Productivity

It’s days like these when mom-guilt loves to creep in.

I haven’t finished the laundry.

There are dishes in the sink.

Emma’s been watching tv for too long.

Ava doesn’t want to be put down and I can’t bear to hear the crying and whining so I just give into what the kids want.

Maybe if I had a strict schedule, we wouldn’t be such a mess.

These are the kinds of days I want to wish away.

The days I feel lazy and unproductive.

Then my husband says, “you are being productive! Just not in the way that you like to be productive.”

My definition of productivity is:

a clean house

no screen time needed

an activity for every couple of hours to fuel Emma’s mind and feed her curiosity

a successful nap time

3 healthy meals

all while simultaneously getting ahead at work

Just making that list was overwhelming.

My family doesn’t expect that from me.

Their definition of productivity is me slowing down, being present, snuggling them.

They’re my to-do list.

If at the end of the day they feel loved and seen by me, they had a good day.

Most days I’d rather get my whole to-do list done, but now’s not that season.

Plan of action: compromise.

Pick one thing off of my list to do a day, then the rest of the day belongs to them.

I believe Jesus is more pleased when I’m more family-oriented than task-oriented.

Mamas, I know your list is long. Mine is, too.

Praying that you show yourselves grace today.

It will get done.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started